Driving fatigue

I got diagnosed last week. And I work as a truck driver, does anyone else suffer with fatigue when they are driving? Because I’m experiencing it really bad and I’m gonna end up quitting my job soon. Problem is I start driving and after just only 10mins I am completely wiped out , sluggish and exhausted. Is this normal for ms??

In a word ‘no’ certainly not for me. I really don’t suffer from MS fatigue at all. That said everyone’s MS journey and experiences are different. Fatigue has never been an issue for me, but night time driving glare is, ever since 2 bouts of ON.
Perhaps some meds, or lifestyle mods may help. Speak to your MS Nurse or GP. Fatigue is relatively common so I’m sure other members will comment soon. Good luck.

I don’t drive so no, not me. But - I’ve had MS for some 18 years and for the last few years I’ve found noisy busy places a bit tiring and similarly when using a mobility scooter in busy parts of the town with lots of pedestrians and traffic moving around me.

Hi rickyantwhite, Yes I suffer terrible with fatigue and no longer drive, I have a lot of symptoms, mind I do have progressive MS, diagnosed 17yrs now, I wouldn’t trust myself to drive. I know there are meds for fatigue, they just didn’t work for me, but maybe worth a try for you, anyway good luck.
Jean

1 Like

Do you also get problems with your eyes? My eyes are always tired and sometimes they sting a lot.

Hi rickyantwhite, I do get tired eyes and they do sting, now I wear glasses and my optician recommended eye drops, which do help a bit. My fatigue is really bad, I need to sleep every day around lunchtime, normally about an hour, but sometimes more, I cope with chronic pain, numbness, I’m in an electric wheelchair, but it’s the fatigue that really gets to me, as it stops me doing so much.

Jean

1 Like